Health · Holistic Health · Natural Health

The Healing Power of Nature

After attending a seminar  about naturopathic medical schools I knew that I had found a profession that was meant for me!  As a friend of mine might even say, it was KISMET!

 Prior to attending the seminar I wasn’t 100% certain as to whether I wanted to attend a traditional medical school or go into scientific research.  However, what I did know was that I wanted to be in a career that allowed me to interact with others and more importantly have an impact in the lives of others!  Naturopathic medicine is giving me the chance to do exactly that and more.  Naturopathic medicine is based on six fundamental principles, which are:

Each one of these principles speak to me in a different way, but there are two that resonate the most with me and they are find and treat the cause and the healing power of nature.  Our bodies are incredible creations that are capable of so much.  If we provide them with the proper requirements they can heal themselves.  Furthermore, naturopathic physicians are like detectives.  They are searching for the reasons why a person is ill, , why a person is having gas and bloating.  This neverending need to get the root cause of the problem a patient is experiencing is why I have grown so much in love with the field.

As a naturopathic student I am learning how to make diagnose, determine differentials  and think critically.  Now that I have started my third year of medical schoolI have begun to learn the many modalities that will assist me in treating my future patients and their conditions.  When I graduate as a naturopathic physician, I will have an abundance of skills and tools that I can use to find and treat the cause.  Some of the tools that naturopaths are taught and use to treat include:

At the end of the day I have absolutely no regrets about entering into a profession that some may consider strange, because I have seen first hand the knowledge and skills that naturopathic doctors possess and I can’t wait to get out there and find and treat the cause!

Best in Health,

Khadija

5 thoughts on “The Healing Power of Nature

  1. I’ve experienced doctors not having a clue what was wrong with me and their solution was a prescription that made me worse. Congratulations on recognizing and pursuing your dream profession that will help many in the years to come. Thanks for visiting my blog. Blessings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

